Being Disliked

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

-Galatians 1:10 (NIV)

I had a realization this past week regarding something that I have struggled with in the past. It was something I had always known, but have had trouble truly accepting and applying to my thoughts in everyday life.

Whether or not someone likes me is not a reflection of me. And it’s okay not to be liked.

Of course, we want to be liked by everyone. It hurts to have someone say they don’t like you, to ignore you, or to avoid you. But have you ever thought about it from the other side? We don’t like everyone. And we aren’t perfect. What right do we have to expect everyone to like us?

Thankfully for us, it’s not our job to make people like us. We are here to please God, not people. We live for God.

God likes you just the way you are. God likes everyone else too. They are entitled to like or not like you, just as you are entitled to like or not like them. Are we still called to love them and treat them with respect? Of course. Even our enemies get some love.

But they don’t have to like you. And that’s okay. God loves you. You’re enough. Don’t try to be what others want just so they will like you. Be what God wants. He loves you and wants you to be happy, and isn’t that the best person to please? The one who already loves you as you are, and is excited when you grow and become better?

Have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply

